Chickpea Balls, Yogurt Cumin Sauce and Sizzling Minted Peas

DSC_0039

DSC_0018Inspired by this gorgeous cookbook that I graciously gave my husband (ahem, to myself) last Christmas, it’s falafel!!!

Actually, I don’t think it is falafel really, but it’s a chickpea patty which generally falls under the auspices of falafel. There is debate on how to even spell falafel. Let’s call it a chickpea cake.

Chickpea Cake.
Pulse one can of chickpeas until mushy.

DSC_0014

Then pulse one small onion, big bunch of mint, fist full of parsley, two cloves of garlic until well minced.

DSC_0016

Add one beaten egg and two tablespoons of flour. Salt and pepper. Roll into balls of your choosing. Refrigerate for half an hour.

I thought about poaching these in the yogurt sauce, but it didn’t work out so well. And it was Sunday so a little grape-seed oil frying isn’t the end of the world. And I love using that organic frying pan of mine.

DSC_0025

The Yogurt Sauce.
This was pretty foreign for me (and by foreign I mean I have never made yogurt sauce before. I’ve been to Turkey, OK?), so I actually paid attention to it.

Saute onions in little oil. Add big spoonful of cumin. Add sprinkle of chilli flakes. Add two cups of chicken stock.
Those of you who have ever read my recipes are familiar with my lack of ability to measure. I do it specifically to annoy my mother-in-law.

DSC_0019

To one pound (a large container) of thick Greek yogurt, add one whisked egg and a half teaspoon of corn starch. This will hold the yogurt together when you add it to the hot broth mixture. Add to said broth mixture.
Stir for at least seven minutes in one directions. It will thicken slowly. Keep on a very, very low boil for another 15 minutes. Taste and salt and pepper. The chilli flakes will give a nice, mellow and unexpected kick of heat to the sauce.

Sizzling Minted Peas.
In the clean saute pan melt one teaspoon of butter til sizzling. Add fresh peas and a big bunch of chopped mint.
Assemble. Eat.

DSC_0028

Sharing is good!

DSC_0033

Sharing is hard…

DSC_0034

So that’s what I did Sunday. You?

6 thoughts on “Chickpea Balls, Yogurt Cumin Sauce and Sizzling Minted Peas

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award! Part 2 :) | rohan7things

  2. Oh my god I just discovered Falafels last week and I’m hooked! They are a vegetarians dream come true lol 🙂 I don’t eat them every day of course but boy are they a yummy dinner! Your recipe looks delicious 🙂

    Rohan.

Leave a Reply

