It’s Moving Day Eve. And You’d be Forgiven for Thinking I’m a Drag Queen.

IMG_20121206_161636Ugh. Moving.
I’m slightly more brain-dead from the oven cleaner fumes and a bit bruised from falling off the side of the tub taking down the shower curtain, but the worst is yet to come. Going through the closets.

I could no more get rid of all the nowhere-to-wear-them sparkles, sequins, brocade, feathers, lamé, beading etc than I would leave the husband behind at the old place. But if it came down to it…

That pink thing? It’s a reversible, silk damask cape. Of course it is!

IMG_20121206_152921

And what about the see-through beaded dress I wore in Vegas and got into an accidental and erroneous “turf war” with some working girls? I couldn’t give that away!

IMG_20121206_153153

Just because I haven’t worn this white, sequined, see-through half-top in 17 years doesn’t mean I don’t have feelings for it still. This is definitely coming, it hardly takes up any room!

IMG_20121206_154013

The pieces whose histories are intrinsically linked to yours are sometimes impossible to get rid of. They are memory receptacles on a coat hanger, cloth photographs of times and places. The pieces to agonize over seem to always be the 16 almost identical black tee shirts, the will-I-ever-wear-this-again, not very flattering but very comfortable sweatshirt and all that fucking underwear you spent a fortune on but never wear.

And I haven’t even begun on the shoes.

IMG_20121206_143537(1)

9 thoughts on “It’s Moving Day Eve. And You’d be Forgiven for Thinking I’m a Drag Queen.

  1. Girl, don’t worry- I own multiple sequin pieces and faux-fur coats. All of these items have got me compliments from drag queens and you know what? It’s awesome.

    PS: Hope we see the shoe collection next!

Leave a Reply

