It Ain’t Cheap But It Sure is Good: Josie Maran Argan Matchmaker Foundation

$42+ tax ain’t no chump change to hand over for a skin care product these days (says the woman who uses Fresh’s Creme Ancienne). But I finally stopped asking Sephora for samples and ponied up for Josie Maran’s Argan Matchmaker Serum Foundation.  Like the rest of Maran’s line, this product is made of all natural ingredients, contains no toxins, parabens, fragrances or preservatives and is vegan, cruelty free, organic and recyclable. And it’s amazing.

$42 doesn’t go far in luxury cosmetics, so it’s nice to know you can use it to buy good-conscience products.

I could have bought a BB cream for considerably less, but I made a deal with myself over a year ago that I would forgo any cosmetic that contained chemicals and additives. I was amazed at how quickly I adapted, usually by substituting natural products, of which there is a growing market. I use coconut oil for almost everything. My brother told me I am “the biggest hippie” he knows and I took it as a compliment. It wasn’t easy giving up some faves, and sure, sometimes I cave and use a lip tint or an eye shadow that leeches poison into my tender tissues.

I urge you to use Environmental Working Group’s amazing website as a resource to help you figure out which products are good and not so good to use in your cosmetic life. Paying attention to what goes into your body is important but remember what goes onto your body is absorbed far more efficiently, for better or worse.

See also Josie’s Argan Lucious Lips lipgloss.

Leave a Reply

