5 Dating Tips For Women (and Men) From a Female Bartender.

Can you see my pulpit from there?

Here’s the deal, if I were single, these are the tactics I would incorporate to get myself out there.
And by out there, I mean somewhere people congregate and imbibe. My platform of expertise? I was a bartender for about 112 years and I watched about 75,000 hook ups, some relationships, a pregnancy here and there, and my personal triumph, a marriage and two babies (not mine). I saw what works.

So, without further ado, here’s the first installment.

1. Make Friends With the Bartender, But Let Them Know What You Are Up To. And Don’t Think You’re Going Home With Him/Her.

This one is super important. Don’t skip it.
Your bartender is your host/hostess.

That means they are going to make sure you have a drink, someone to talk to, something to eat and that you don’t have your skirt tucked into your undies. Let them know you’re single and looking to mingle. In a non-creepy way.
Any bartender worth their salt will appreciate your polite, witty presence and be happy to facilitate an intro to anyone appropriate. Or inappropro, whichever takes your fancy.
Return the favor and be cool. Imagine this is a party at someone’s home. Tip well. Don’t hit on them. Don’t go home with the only person left at 4 a.m. or your barkeep might not take you seriously next time.


I guarantee if you’re a good “guest” the next time you perch at their bar, you’ll have an advocate in your corner.
Second installment here.
Third installment here.

Photo: photopin.com

5 thoughts on “5 Dating Tips For Women (and Men) From a Female Bartender.

  1. I’m going to give this to my daughter’s friend who is a bartender. He is a super smart guy, but I am not sure he knows all of this! I sure didn’t. But I’ve never actually gone to a bar to meet someone ever. Weird, I know.
    cheers,
    Cindy

    • I think the whole working for tips thing helps with that. I look at it like being a sub-contractor: I might not own the bar, but I “own” my shift. So if I’m nice to people and try my best, it will hopefully be reflected in the money I make. Which is brilliant incentive not to be a smug asshole.

Leave a Reply

